Holiday Cards

Merry Merry Everyone,

I am so behind on getting my Christmas decorating posts up this year.  BUT, fear not.  I am moving along and will share all the awesomeness soon.  Meanwhile, click here, herehere, here and here for Christmas 2013 posts.

This weekend we managed to get our Christmas card photo taken and I’m so thrilled with the results.  On Sunday I informed the family that we were going to shoot the picture, edit it and send it for printing.  Yup…got it all done.  Today I’m sharing some of the moments we captured while posing (aka the outtakes) and my crazy thought process.

I tend to over think things.  My brain likes to analyze, strategize and understand how things work.  Over time I’ve learned to work with my brain, but sometimes it just takes over and the perfectionist in me is off and running.  The creation of this picture began right after Thanksgiving when I started thinking about our holiday card for 2014.  After last year’s card went out, it was suggested by a few that I may have too much time on my hands…

I can certainly see how one might come to that conclusion, but I assure you I do not.

Besides, more time on my hands would mean more posts for all of you wonderful readers.  And who doesn’t want that?  Right?

The cats were not thrilled with the photo shoot last year.  It was rather involved for them.  Al (RIP), the one in the sleigh, was 16 at the time and…well…he was tired.  I put him in the sleigh and he promptly curled up and took a nap.  Romeo (right) was 6 months young, very busy, and curious as to what to do with the large, gold, sparkly balls.  Neither of them appreciated their festive attire.  Between their nonplussed attitudes, the props, the lighting, etc, it’s a miracle I didn’t scrap the whole idea and go old school with a hand written card.

But I get Christmas card pictures of kids and families and etchings of homes and dogs.

I can take a hint.

Holiday photo cards are in vogue.  I want to be hip and trendy too.  So I sent pictures.  Of my cats.

For 2014 we decided on a family portrait (and when I say “we”, I mean “I”).  I had lots of ideas:

We’ll all lay down on the floor in a circle and have Daria stand over us and take a picture of our smiling faces.

oh, or

We’ll go down to the running path by the bridge with a big flowing ribbon.

But what will we wear?

Everyone in blue shirts?  Not Christmassy enough.

Do we all have red or green shirts?  Nope, not really our colors.

Forget them…focus on me…I have that beautiful new dress.

Jeans?…YES!  Black jeans?…YES!  Off-white sweater?…YES!  Lots of pearls and gold jewelry?…YES!  And for Super Houls and Dylan, black jeans and gray shirts!  Romeo’s coloring will fit right in…PERFECT!  We need pops of red…lipstick, shoes, bow for Romeo.

EVERYONE GET DRESSED BEFORE IT GETS DARK!  Daria, grab the camera!

I received my Christmas card order today and I love how they turned out.  I’ll post it on Christmas Eve, promise.  For now, a few outtakes…

D, D & Romeo

D, D & Romeo

How cute are they?

E and T

Me, Super Houls & Romeo

Did you notice the bow on the mantle?  Romeo was much more cooperative this year.  What a difference a year makes.

God Bless my family for putting up with me and my busy brain.

Hey, if you enjoyed reading this, why not share it?…follow me?…or both?

Be well,

Eileen

Outtake 2013

Outtake 2013

Leave a comment