13.1 Done and Chirping Birds

Hi Everyone,

I know it has been a while since my last post and a few things that make me happy have happened since then.  First and foremost, the birds are chirping in the morning when I leave for work which is such sweet music to my ears!  Spring is here and while New York temperatures still haven’t reached the seasonal average, I know winter is coming to an end.  We get a relief from snowstorms and shoveling and boots, gloves, hats and coats…soon.  I have ideas for Spring projects and was thinking last night that we will be able to get all the lawn furniture out of storage in the garage and I will have my creative space back.  Woo Hoo.  Can I get a high five?

Secondly, Oops, I did it again!  I ran…and finished…the NYC Half Marathon last Sunday (oh, and so did Super Houls).  13.1 miles in cold (31 degrees) and windy (18 mph) weather. Thankfully the sun was out for most of the run.  There were a total of 20,750 finishers (9,761 MEN / 10,989 WOMEN) and Super Houls and I were among them!

For those of you who are not familiar with the course, we started with a loop around Central Park (including a long trek up the Harlem Hills that is quite…well, brutal…to be honest) for the first 6 miles then excited the Park and headed down Seventh Avenue (best part of the race because this is where all the cheering crowds are) to 42nd Street and then over to the West Side Highway and down to Wall Street.  Yup, 13.1.  Finished. With. No. Injuries.

Now that we have some extra daylight hours, and my training is over, I can get back to some serious DIYing.  Here are just a few photos we were able to take on race  day before the start…

Me

Me

Super Houls

Super Houls

And here’s a close-up of our decorated shirts…

Romeo snuck in for this pic.

Romeo snuck in for this pic.

That’s it for me this week. I’ll be back next week with a little project I’ve been working on and then I’ll have my first blog feature the following week.

Thanks for stopping by and if you enjoyed reading this, hey, why not follow me?

Be well,

Eileen

One thought on “13.1 Done and Chirping Birds

Leave a comment