Designing A Room With A Design Board

You guys!

I’m really excited to share this with you, but first, a little back story.  As you know from my previous posts here, here, here and here, my boy son D has moved out and into his own apartment.  An after post is in the making, I’m just waiting for approval from D & D.

Now that D has officially launched, I’m an empty nester with a new guest bedroom to design.  I struggled with this one but finally decided to create a guest room/office space in D’s former bedroom.  My process for designing and decorating involves scouring Pinterest for visual ideas while also visiting brick and mortar stores like HomeGoods and West Elm to satisfy my need for a tactile experience, and to get a sense of scale.  Being that there is no sense of urgency to complete this room, I have been taking my time in deciding how I want the room to look and feel.  It also needs to function as a welcoming guest room for overnight guests and a work space for me.  It took a while to come up with my color scheme but I knew that I wanted the room to be gender neutral with both feminine and masculine elements.

So here’s the exciting part…I made a design board last night (yup, I did) to keep me on track while I implement this project.  I mean, let’s be honest, can anyone go to HomeGoods and stay focused?  I also purchased the paint for the room and I’m hoping to finish painting this weekend.  I decided on BM Barren Plain.  It’s  a soft, light grey…

Benjamin Moore Barren Plains


The hardwood floors have been newly sanded.  There will be a white board and batten feature wall too.  The contrast of the white trim and gray paint will be a subtle backdrop for the color scheme I’m planning, especially the gold accents.  Because, duh!…all the glitters.   Here’s what I’m envisioning…

  

I plan to incorporate all of these elements into the room.  I already have the desk, animal print chair, black and gold mirror and plants.  I’m in the process of sourcing the rest.  The best part of this room is that I love every single item that I incorporated into the design board.  Wish me look in my quest to source the rest!

I’d love to hear your thoughts.  Do you think the room is gender neutral?  Do I have enough of a balance of light and dark?  What’s your favorite piece?

Be well,

Eileen

IMG_2924

You can never have enough animal prints.

3 thoughts on “Designing A Room With A Design Board

Leave a comment