Parisian Inspired Artwork for the Dining Room – Deuxième Partie: Le Révéler

Hi Everyone,

I’m so happy to say that I finally finished this project and the artwork in the dining room is complete!  OUAIS!  (That’s “YEAH!” in French.)  And…I did it all on my own with no help from Super Houls…except of course his critiques.  If you missed my first post on this project, click here.

So for the gallery wall, I made templates of my frames and then taped them to the wall to figure out spacing and placement, like this…

Picture Templates

This makes hanging artwork so much easier.  All you have to do then is center the nail on the paper template according to how many inches from the top of the frame your picture hanger sits.  And then you just hang them all…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I decided to make the left side the gallery wall because the light switch is on this side and blends in more.  I love the way it came out and will probably add more as time goes on.  Here’s some close-up shots…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Don’t you love just that old doorknob?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OK, on to the single large piece of artwork for the right wall.  Last time you saw it, I put it in the Ikea frame I picked up and it looked like this…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I centered it on the right wall and loved how it filled up the space…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Super Houls loved it.  Dylan loved it.  I liked it.  But…I felt there was too much white.  I thought about adding some gold jewelry to the corners or just spray painting the corners gold.  I looked around for hardware but didn’t find anything that I loved…and its been so cold here the tought of going into the garage to spray paint was not appealing.  Then I thought of this…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI had burlap ribbon in my supply arsenal.  And…if I cut it in half…I had just enough for the four sides of the border.  So I did.  Then I taped it to the underside to hold it in place, like this…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And continued to add it to the four sides…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I put it all back together inside the frame.  And here’s how it came out…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Perfect!  It breaks up the white space and ties right in with the burlap curtains hanging in the room.

And here’s a picture of the two walls (as best as I could fit them into the frame)…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Done! Done! and Done!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Puurfection!

Hey, if you enjoyed reading this…why not follow me?

Au revoir,

Eileen

3 thoughts on “Parisian Inspired Artwork for the Dining Room – Deuxième Partie: Le Révéler

Leave a comment