Parisian Inspired Artwork for the Dining Room – La Première Partie

Happy MLK Day Everyone,

I hope everyone is doing something fun or exciting or relaxing today.  Or maybe you are just enjoying a third day off.  Whatever your plans,  I hope they’re inspiring in some way.  I came down with something midweek…a stomache virus and cold combined…if there is such a thing.  It  kept me home and in bed on Thursday and it has been lingering ever since.  I spent much of the weekend resting but I did get to take a trip to Ikea yesterday to purchase some picture frames…and of course I found several other items I needed wanted so I picked them up too.  Why wouldn’t I?

We remodeled our dining room this past summer and there are two walls that are in need of wall decor.  They are symmetrical but I wanted to break them up in terms of artwork.  I thought a collage on one wall and a large piece of art on the other might do it.

Dining Room Walls

On the right wall you see two pieces or artwork that I wanted to include in the decor.  I found these Parisian prints at a garage sale last summer and I almost passed them up.   They were in old wooden frames that made them look dreadful.  But I was drawn to them so I paid the ten dollars for the two, knowing I would reframe them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also wanted to incorporate this beauty that Super Houls brought me from the Prado Museum in Madrid.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

That dress!  I die!

But Super Houls was drawn to her eyes…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So I framed the above three prints in gold frames with white matting.  Then I added these birds and plates to brighten it all up with some white, and to pick up the colors in the gold-framed prints above.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The bird prints I found at Ikea yesterday and the plate I picked up during a trip to Martha’s Vineyard.  I layed them all out on the dining room table to determine the layout for the wall.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So that’s the plan – yes, it may change – for the left wall.  The other wall will have one very large print that I’ve had forever.  It was stored away in the attic in an old black frame that just wouldn’t work.   Yesterday at Ikea I found a very large, basic, white frame…parfait!  I think this print ties in nicely with the Parisian theme.  My apologies in advance for the glare on the next two photos – trust me, I tried!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love, love, love The Kiss by Robert Doisneau.  Always have.  I’m so happy I found this frame for it.  I’m thinking it does need a little something more…some gold accents, perhaps…to dress it up a bit.  I have a few ideas in mind, of course, but they’ll require a trip to the craft store.  In the meantime, any ideas you may wish to share would certainly be welcome.

I’ll be sharing the reveal once I get it all finalized and hung, which I plan on doing without any help from Super Houls.  I’m sure he’ll be delighted by my need to independently complete this project…we’ll see how that goes.

Hey, if you enjoyed reading this…why not follow me?

Au revoir,

Eileen

5 thoughts on “Parisian Inspired Artwork for the Dining Room – La Première Partie

Leave a Reply

