Twelve Days of Christmas -Day Four: From Decorated Trees to Decorated Neighborhoods

Hi there,

The other night, I grabbed my camera and took a ride to photograph the homes in my neighborhood.  Of course it started raining soon after I ventured out so my apologies for any water drops you may glimpse on these photos.  They may also be a bit dark since I decided to take some night shots to capture the lights on the houses.

Let me give you some background on my neighborhood.  Colonial Heights is an established neighborhood that encapsulates an architecturally diverse collection of homes.  This is what I love most about it.  It is also located close enough to NYC to enjoy all the Big Apple has to offer, but far enough away that chirping birds, crickets and greenery give a reprise from the noise, crowds and hard scapes of city life.

To give you a sense of when the neighborhood was first established, this church was built in 1789.   The structure’s simplicity is reminiscent of that time period.  The white lights and green wreaths hanging on the classic red doors highlight its beauty.

IMG_1027

Colonial Heights Church

This next home is massive in comparison to my humble abode and the decor is stunning.  The home itself is shrouded by hedges and difficult to see from the road but here’s some of the highlights of the wonderland they create every year.

All the urns and the tree bases surrounding the property get dressed up too.

IMG_0998

IMG_1013

And just to give you an idea of the sheer size, this is the guest house on the property, complete with rooftop trees and window bows.

This home has a wide front yard display.

IMG_1020

But my favorite decoration is the full-sized moving santa sitting in his…armchair.

IMG_1024

I found two candy cane lanes in yards decorated for little ones.

And this home with just a lighted wreath and deer with matching red bows.

IMG_1034

I’m hoping to get out there again soon to capture some daytime photos…when it’s not raining.

Hey, if you enjoyed reading this, why not share it or follow me or both?

Merry, Merry!

Eileen

LJ Studios_0040

Romeo & Floyd

 

 

Leave a comment