Chalk Painted Cabinet Makeover

Hi Friends,

I’m sooooooo excited to share my lasted DIY project with you. Three reasons: it’s my first time sharing a refinished piece of furniture on the blog; this piece exemplifies the saying, “one person’s trash is another person’s treasure;” it’s a DIY furniture redo that required no sanding.

#winning

I introduced this piece quite some time ago…um…okay, it’s been about a year. So, please bear with me while I go off on a tangent provide some insight into my creative process.

Last February I shared how I came across this little cabinet in the post, Nicole Curtis Ain’t Got Nothing on Me.   If you missed it, go ahead and read it first, or reread it because, after all, a year without an update is a long time and yes, I still want to be this woman’s bestie.

Nicole Curtis

#badass

If you follow me on Instagram or my Facebook page, you might have seen a picture while I was working on this cabinet.  Here is what it looked like when I found it…

IMG_0834

She’s got legs…

Rehab Cabinet

and paint splatters…

Rehab Cabinet

and lots of potential!

Originally I envisioned her painted black with gold trim.

Total fail.               Wipe out.               No bueno.

Yup, that happens sometimes.  You have a picture in mind, you implement the plan and you hate the result.  This is when I step away and leave it alone for a while…sometimes months…until a new idea emerges.   I’ve learned that waiting is part of the creative process.  It’s the hard part for me.  It requires patience and totally abandoning the original idea.  Then, when I least expect it, a new vision emerges and the process starts again.

This time I got some light grey chalk paint (no sanding required) and started painting again.  Then I used a clear wax to protect the finish.

IMG_1350

Then I decided that a pattern on the back panel of the cabinet would add some unexpected interest, so I started measuring and cutting fabric.

IMG_1346

The next thing I knew, I was spray painting the original gold door knobs a metallic silver.

IMG_1349

And the cabinet that I found on the curb waiting for the trash…the cabinet with the wobbly legs, and the dings and scratches, and the paint splatters…became a functioning, adorable piece of furniture in the abode…

IMG_1344

…that sits at the landing at the top of the stairs beneath the window.  Love when that happens.

#winning

Hey, if you enjoyed this post, let me know in the comments below and then share it with a friend, because #sharingiscaring

Be well,

Eileen

image

Leave a comment