Thinking Outside The Box

Hi Everyone,

Between college application season, boot camp classes, and life on life’s terms, finding time to post regularly has proven to be challenging, but onward I push.  Today I have a small project I want to share.

I have beautiful Lenox silver that I received as a wedding gift, but I didn’t have a silver chest to store it in.  Several years ago my sister-in-law brought me an extra chest that she didn’t need (thanks Joann).  When she saw I was excited, she warned that it was very plain.

Um…hello…have you met me?  I can work with plain.

I’ve used it for several years – but kept it hidden in a drawer – knowing one day I would spruce it up.  Here’s how it looked when I started…

After a light sanding, I gave it two coats of  Home Decor Chalk Paint in Ebony…

Better, but dark brown was not the look I was going for.  Once it was dry, I applied Home Decor White Wax and Super Houls added some gold nail head trim to the four corners…

IMG_0613

I’m not ashamed to admit that Super Houls may be better at hammering than I am.

The white wax application gave the wood a beautiful weathered gray look and the gold trim gave it some dimension and contrast.  But it still needed something in the center.  I found a letter “H” at the craft store and spray painted it gold to match the trim and secured it to the center of the lid.  Are you ready for this transformation?

IMG_0627

Now the outside is as beautiful as the silver it holds inside.

Now, instead of being hidden in the drawer, it is displayed on our buffet…

IMG_0628

Lovin’ it!

This was such an easy update.  You know, the kind that makes you wonder why you waited so long to do it.  The only thing I may add is a small handle above the lip.

Maybe.

But for now, I’m calling it done!

Thanks for stopping by and hey, if you enjoyed reading this, why not share it or follow me or both?

What do you think?  Handle or no handle?  What would you do?

What do you think?  Handle or no handle? Leave a comment and let me know.

 

Be well,

Eileen

 

 

Leave a comment