Every Woman Deserves A Walk-In Closet…Boutique Style

IMG_0441

Hi there,

Done!  Another check on the to-do list.  And…I’m pretty excited to reveal the fabulousness of my walk-in closet makeover.  But first, here’s the back story…

Our spare bedroom is small teeny-tiny small.  If I were in the market for a baby crib, I could turn it into a beautifully sweet nursury…BUT…those days are over.  So the only options left, as far as I can see, is an office or a walk-in closet.  I’m a female.  I have more clothes, shoes, purses and accessories than I need.  Apparently, the women who were around when my home was built in the 1920s, were females of a different sort.  The sort who didn’t think they needed closet space.  I’m not sure where they put their “stuff”, but I found a solution to the dilemna they left us.  Ladies, if you are one of the lucky creatures whose house came with a fabulous, spacious walk-in closet to-die-for, this post is probably not going to rock your world.  For the rest of us who aren’t as lucky, I suggest you take that spare bedroom that no one ever sleeps in and turn it into your Lady Cave.  That’s what I did.  Let’s start a new trend.

Here’s what I started with…a sorta, kinda functioning walk-in…

IMG_0385

Right Side

IMG_0386

Left Side

IMG_0387

Full Length Mirror…Not

The before pics clearly show the space was not being utilized as well as it could be.  We put it together quickly since we had so many projects that needed our attention when we first bought the house. Over the years, it became more disorganized and I couldn’t see what I had…mornings became increasingly stressful…etc., etc.  In my mind I had a vision of a beautiful boutique styled dressing room walk-in closet and it included Super Houls’ skillset.  Once summer arrived and things slowed down a little, he got on board…suprisingly easily…love when that happens!

So we cleared out the room, gave it a fresh coat of paint, and Super Houls got out the toolbox…

It always gets messy before it gets beter.

It always gets messy before it gets beter.

IMG_0402

Make sure everything’s level.

IMG_0405

Old houses with plaster walls need stud finders to make sure what goes up, stays up.

IMG_0403

Once the studs are located, the vision starts to come to life.

Are you ready for this ladies?  Grab a coffee, glass of wine, whatever you need.  OK, come on in…

IMG_0421

IMG_0415

Marilyn Monroe and Audrey Hepburn:  Icons of Femininity!

As you can see from the reflection in the mirror, my prints of Marilyn and Audrey were hung before we finished cleaning up.  I can’t help it, I get excited.  I got these prints from vintage Life Magazines that I found at an estate sale.  I simply cut them out and framed them.  Beautiful, inexpensive art…BAM!  Here’s some close-ups…

IMG_0436 IMG_0438

Next, the shelving went up.  I got the shelves for free from a friend who was throwing them out. They were dusty with a dark wood stain.  We sanded them and painted them white with our new paint sprayer.  Super Houls used simple shelf brackets to secure them to the right wall…

IMG_0442

Shelving Display

Below is a dresser I bought a few ywars ago.  Now my make-up organizer and jewelry are at hand.

IMG_0456 IMG_0460

On the left side, we added the organizing system for my hanging clothes.  But first I got rid of all of these…

photo

No more plastic, slippery hangers…

IMG_0446 IMG_0448On the back wall to the right of the window, more shelving and an organizer for my belts…

Back Wall

and a close-up…

Back Wall Shelving

Back Wall Shelving & Belt Organizer

And to top it all off…literally…the chandy got a good cleaning…

IMG_0451

Ladies, there you have it…a Lady Cave that is glamorous and feminine and pretty with a hint of sexy.  What do you think?  Here’s one last look…

IMG_0442

IMG_0438IMG_0440 IMG_0417

Hey, if you enjoyed reading this…why not follow me?

Be well,

Eileen

PS…I’ll be busy for the next few weeks working on a non-blogging project (yes, unfortunately they exist for me) and then I’m heading to the beach for a few weeks.  I’ll be back at the end of August.

Enjoy your summer!!

I’m linking to The Sunday Showcase.

One thought on “Every Woman Deserves A Walk-In Closet…Boutique Style

Leave a Reply

