Cliff Walks and Mansions and Beaches…Oh My!

I recently posted to my Facebook page that I was feeling “miffed”.  SuperHouls and I were on the tail end of a mini-getaway to Newport, RI and stopped for dinner in Jamestown before making the drive back to New York.  When we arrived in Jamestown…I swooned…

View of the Pell Bridge

Once I recovered, I wondered why no one had ever suggested I go there.  My family, my friends and my acquantices all know that I am an avid beach goer and lover of all things nautical.  All know that I frequented the Hamptons, Montauk, Fire Island and all other Long Island Beaches.  They know I vacationed on Cape Cod and Maine.  Were they not prersent at our nuptuals off the shores of Greenwich?  It’s no secret I lived in the Carribean…quickly acclimated to the island lifestyle…and island hopped at every opportunity.  Summers have always included time away at beaches in Deleware and LBI.  And wasn’t I just in Puerto Rico this past February?  Yet, not a peep about Newport and Jamestown, nada…zilch…nothing.  See?  You’d be “miffed “too.

But I’m over it now and ready to move on and suggest to all who have never been…just go!  I’ll start with the Cliff Walk…

 

View of the infamous Cliff Walk from the beach.

View of the infamous Cliff Walk from the beach.

I happened upon it because I was searching for running trails.  SuperHouls and I wanted to run two of the four days we were away.  According to the article I read, the Cliff Walk is one of the most beautiful places to run.  I admit, I was skeptical because we run where ever we go and I’ve seen some beautiful sights while running.  SuperHouls didn’t believe it either…I could tell by the way he responded to my suggestion we try it bright and early in the morning…or maybe he was just tired.  I read parts of the article to excite him, but no luck.  He committed but without much enthusiasm, until he saw this…

SuperHouls is amazed at my ability to find awesome running trails.

Yup…that was pretty much what we got to look at during our four mile out-and-back run.  Amazing, no?  Here’s some more photos…

Cliff Walk 4

Coastline on one side and mansions on the other makes me a happy girl.

Cliff Walk 1And, it gets better!  The other side of the Cliff Walk trail was spotted with the Newport Mansions.  I mean…this was like a scene out of Downton Abbey!  We booked a tour of the mansions and I had my camera at the ready, but for preservation reasons pictures were not allowed (a rule SuperHouls insisted I obey) but if you are interested in these historically preserved homes, go here.

The Elms was my favorite.  I could totally see myself living there.  SuperHouls, not so much.  One of these days we are going to sell the house, pack it all up and move to one of the areas on our “places we’d live to live” list.

But for now, we’ll just run the trails, tour the historic homes, dine at the local haunts and relax on the beaches when ever we can…

Cliff Walk Us

I forgot my running shades and had to improvise…no judging!

 

Terry & Me

A quick stop for lunch at The Black Pearl restaurant in Newport…Yums!

beach

Fourth of July Weekend brings a crowd…

Paul Revere

…and some interesting characters!

Our last night in Jamestown, we ate at a restaurant called Simpatico.  The food was delicious, and we sat outside under the pergolas and trees decorated with mini-lights.  It was a perfect way to end our mini getaway and I fell in love with this outdoor chandy…

DIY Chandy

Added this to my ever growing DIY project list…sigh.

We are back to work until August but I’m hoping to knock some projects off my list once I feel more acclimated to my summer work schedule.  In the meantime, I hope you are all havig a fun, relaxing summer…and if you are looking for a great New England vacation spot or a new running trail…check out Newport and Jamestown.

And hey, if you enjoyed reading this…why not follow me?

Be well,

Eileen

Romeo

Next time, hopefully they’ll remember to take me.

 

 

 

One thought on “Cliff Walks and Mansions and Beaches…Oh My!

Leave a Reply

