Mother’s Day…A Daughter’s Reflections

While thinking about what to write for this week’s post, I thought I’d veer off the DIY and decorating path to reflect on what I have learned from my amazing mom.

Here’s what she’s taught me…

Grace. This is the first word that comes to mind when I think of my mother. When faced with challenging situations in life, she responds with grace and dignity. Then she picks herself up, brushes herself off, and keeps moving forward. Although she never spoke the words directly to me, her actions have taught me that living well is always the best revenge.

Independence. My mom is the strongest woman I know. She took risks at a young age when she travelled to this country in hopes of the “American Dream”…on her own…on a ship…across the Atlantic Ocean…and made a life for herself that has blessed her with 5 children and 13 grandchildren.

20140510-104907.jpg

 

Strength. I remember a particularly low point on my path when I doubted everything, mostly myself. I went to my mother, broken and crying. And I will never forget that moment…sitting at the kitchen table. She said, “Eileen, you are stronger than this.” And I believed her. I have repeated my mother’s words to myself many times since that day and they always put things in perspective again.

Faith. My mom’s devotion to her faith is something I can only strive for. When I need some prayers It’s comforting to know I can call on her to offer some during her daily church visits.

Compassion. She ran a catering business for years and I think the entire neighborhood worked at a catering event at one point or another. Whether people were out of work, just starting out, or needed to make extra money, they learned through word of mouth told to call my mom and she put them to work for as long as they needed.

Work Ethic. I learned that putting forth the effort and perseverance eventually pays off. My mom was the hardest worker I know. She’s happily retired now and enjoying it. She goes dancing, plays cards, has coffee with her friends, and gets to spend time being a grandma. I’d bet money that she has few regrets.

 

20140510-104837.jpg

 

These are just a few of the lessons I’ve learned from my mother.   I could go on…and on…and on.

 

Happy Mother’s Day Mom!

Thanks for stopping by and if you’re a mom, Happy Mother’s Day!

Eileen

One thought on “Mother’s Day…A Daughter’s Reflections

Leave a Reply

