Style a Spring Mantle…by Shopping for Goods at Home

Hi Everyone,

I am on Spring Break this week…woohoo!…and I am finding that my brain is very, very busy with ideas and projects I want to accomplish.  Since yesterday I cleaned my first floor windows…all 17 of them…and I have 10 more to go on the second floor.  I have perfected my window cleaning technique…have it down to a science. Stay tuned for a future post on how to get your windows clean and streak-free.

We have had some beautiful weather here in NY…FINALLY!…with 70 degrees the last two days.  But today is rainy so I worked on some indoor projects.  I repotted my house plants, which have been on my to-do list for at least a year…maybe two.  Then I noticed, again, how sad and bare my mantle looked.  Not the first time I’ve noticed it lately but I’ve been waiting for some inspiration on how to style it for Spring. My first thought today was, I’ll take a quick trip to HomeGoods!  but I was in stay-at-home mode and its rainy and windy so I decided to shop at home instead.  Here’s what I put together…

image

The wreath was hanging in the upstairs bathroom. I grabbed it and hung it over the mirror with some green ribbon. Then I just started adding and layering with items I had around the house to bring in color, depth and height.  Here are some close-ups of the items I used…

The red books you see in the above photo where saved from the trash. Yup…you heard me. I happened to be entering the building one morning at the school where I work and one of the maintenance guys had a stack of these old books on a cart heading for the trash. Poor guy looked at me as if I were crazy when I asked if I could have them. I grabbed all the red ones in the stack knowing they were perfect for decorating.  Major score!  They are perfect here to add height for the angel sitting on top…she is a gift from a dear friend.  I dressed up the plain glass vase with some green ribbon that I glued on with my glue gun.  Then I filled it with green and white patterned ceramic balls.

image

I love the contrast of the blue glass container with the white.  It was a candle holder that I cleaned out and kept after burning the candle…also a gift.   The tray adds some depth and petty spring colors and blossoms…one of my estate sale finds…and I love it’s curvy shape.

image

I continued the white, gold and dark wood theme at this end of the mantle to tie it all together.  I added the frame and then found the postcard of the bird that I had bought at Ikea a while back…a perfect match for the Spring theme and a pop of red to match the books on the other side. The cherubs are from our wedding…it was our cake topper and the dark wood finial on the end adds balance in color and height.

I love the way the mantle looks now with all the Spring decor I found shopping at home!  Here’s one more picture showing how it all ties together…

image

I. Love. It.

Super Houls loves it too…free and no work for him…what’s not to love?

What do you think?  Do you ever shop at home to style your home?

Thanks for stopping by and hey, if you enjoyed reading this, why not follow me?

 

Be well,

Eileen

 

 

2 thoughts on “Style a Spring Mantle…by Shopping for Goods at Home

  1. Alicia says:

    Beautiful mantle, Eileen! Love how you rescued those books from the trash. I really like the blue glass box. Can’t wait to see what you do next.

    Like

Leave a Reply

