What’s an old, historic town without some bling?

Hola!

I’m back!  Well, physically I am but I left my heart in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico.  How I love it there.  Owning property there someday has been added to my bucket list.  Everytime I visit Puerto Rico I question why I stay in New York.  Don’t get me wrong, New York is a great place to live but the hustle, the bustle, the frenzied pace, the overall tight squeezed spaces and the cold (this winter has been quite unbearable) make me long for a simpler place… sigh.

During this trip we spent lots of downtime on the beach and by the pool.  We ate delicious meals.  We were able to go for runs outside in shorts and tees, we snorkled off the coast of Culebra

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and we took lots of photos of it all.  But the highlight of the trip was spending a day in the historic city of Old San Juan.  The architectural detail, the vibrant colors, the cobblestone streets, the ocean views, and the tropical plants and flowers make my spirit come alive and sooth my soul.  If you love historic cities and towns like I do, you may want to feast your eyes on these photos…

Let’s start with the cobblestone streets.  Talk about transplanting yourself back in time.  I found myself wondering about all the souls who must have traveled along these same narrow streets…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…that go on and on, some ending with a view of the ocean…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and date back to a time when carriages were pulled by horses…

OSJ Horse Carriage

Then there is the charming architectural details on the building’s grand windows and doors…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

      OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and the door knockers are as original as the colorful exteriors…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and balconies everywhere…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and all the homes lined up with no two colors alike…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Of course all historical towns have their own historical churches.  The Franciscan Chapel has been a part of the old city since the 18th century…

OSJ Church

It has been restored but its original beauty and integrity remain…

OSJ Church Floor

I just love a black and white marble tile.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lots of alcoves and arches.

OSJ Church

Detailed beautifully.

Finally, this post would be incomplete if I didn’t end with the majestic fountain.  This is the tree-lined pathway that leads to the fountain…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Raíces Fountain  celebrates Puerto Rico’s Taíno, Spanish, and African heritage.  Here are some close-ups…

La Raices 4

La Raices 2

La Raices 3

La Raices 1

If I didn’t leave you all with a little lot of bling, you’d probably be worried about me.  I was stopped dead in my tracks while walking down the street.  From the corner of my eye I spotted grandeur in the lobby of the Casablanca Hotel…

OSJ Hotel Chandelier 2

I. Die.

Thanks for stopping by.  Hey, if you enjoyed reading this, why not follow me?

Saludos,

Eileen

One thought on “What’s an old, historic town without some bling?

Leave a Reply

