Crafty Organization

Hi there,

I’m a little late on this week’s post.  I work full-time and blogging is new to me so my goal is one post a week.  Since I’ve started I’ve been able to meet this goal but I didn’t realize how much time one post takes.  There’s the planning, the doing, the photo taking and the writing and editing.  Once summer arrives, I’ll have more time to dedicate to it…can’t wait cause I love it!

It’s January and I am on an organization tear.  Now that all the holiday decorations are put away and the attic is organized (thanks Super Houls!), I’m finding many areas that have been um, neglected.  This week, my focus was on finding a home for my craft supplies.  My vision is to have a place in the attic once we finish it in the near future.  For now I carved out a little space in our TV armoire that I found on Craigslist this summer for two hundred dollars.  It’s an Ethan Allen piece (in perfect condition) so it was definitely a steal.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The TV is housed in the center and there’s shelving behind the door on the left.  It started to collect random items that are easy to tuck away behind the closed door – perfect for my craft supplies.   I’ve also been drawn to the color blue lately.  Not sure why, but it’s not a color I decorate with and doesn’t go with the colors in my home so I thought this is a perfect place to satisfy my sudden need for blue.  Here’s what I found at the dollar store for two dollars each (I bought five)…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love the color and the jewelry…label holders, corner pieces and pulls for two dollars!  So I went through my label collection and found these…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They were the perfect width (love when that happens!) so I just cut them and then used my label maker to add the labels…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Because the armoire is solid wood, I needed to brighten up the inside.  I lined the shelves with supplies I had lying around.  Here’s a before and after lining…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA   OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Subtle, but I think it makes a big difference.  Maybe Super Houls will add some lighting down the road.  Wouldn’t that be nice?  Here’s a few more photos…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love organization projects, especially when they cost so little.  They make life so much easier, don’t you think?  Now I can find all my supplies in one area…at least until I outgrow this space.  Every time I open the door, I do the happy dance.  This perplexes Super Houls.

Hey, if you enjoyed reading this, why not follow me?

Thanks for stopping by,

Eileen

Leave a Reply

