To whitewash or not to whitewash…um, 7 years later.

I love a stacked stone fireplace.  I love the color, the texture, the dimension, much like this one…

Image

…but it can be a bit pricey.  Our fireplace is brick. Dark. Red.  Brick.  It doesn’t at all resemble the above photo, it looks like this…

Image

So I got to thinking – my husband is not a fan of when I do this, but I cannot seem to help myself – and I thought “I’ll whitewash it to look like this…

Image

OK, so it’s not stacked stone and there ‘s no going back.  BUT… It will be brighter and less dated and, if I hate it, we will just HAVE to resurface it with stacked stone.  And so, for the cost of a gallon of paint and some new brushes, we got to work.  By “we” I mean my husband and I.  God bless this man.  He puts up with all my thinking and ideas and promises that it will be fun and easy and so nice when it’s done!  I’ll explain the process later but at one point we did step back and just have to look at it for a while, like this…

Image

and then it was dark so we decided to wait til mornin’ to see if we need to order some stacked stone after all.  Check back tomorrow for the reveal!

One thought on “To whitewash or not to whitewash…um, 7 years later.

Leave a Reply

